'15-'16 General Discussion for Lesson 3.8

Use this thread to discuss your questions and comments about how to run the lesson.

Had this question today from a student who has a good bit of self-taught programming knowledge (quite possibly more than I do) – why aren’t we doing some of the “basics,” like declaring variables or iteration vs. recursion?
EDIT: (I now see/remember that iteration is discussed specifically in the next lesson. My bad.)

I told him that I guessed that the reason for this is because the way the curriculum is going here is decidedly more fun, but I didn’t have an answer as to why we were skipping this for now. Anyone have a better answer?

1. “Read the documentation for the these blocks.” (the these = typo)
  2. When you hover above the blocks for random number, no documentation appears. Does anyone else have this problem? I’m probably missing something that’s fairly obvious (wouldn’t be the first time).

Hey Michael,

I wanted to get back to you on your question. It’s definitely the case that we’re not taking a more traditional route into programming. The goal with the curriculum, controlling what blocks are in the palette, etc. is that students are only responsible for a small subset of the language at first, and that they’re shown early on the kinds of things they can do with them. I would agree that this is a more fun way to be introduced to concepts, and ideally everything students are seeing will be well-motivated by the kinds of problems they’re solving.

I’m sure you’re not the only teacher who has some students with programming experience. I’m curious to hear how you and others navigate this throughout the unit. Thanks for sharing!

GT

1 Like

Hi Joe,

Thanks for the feedback! I have fixed the typo you pointed out. There seems to be a bug with the documentation for random number not popping up. Our development team is looking into the reason and hopefully it will be fixed soon.

Thanks for helping us improve CS Principles!

-Dani