17-18 Discussion for Lesson 2.8

I studied trends between Hurricane Harvey and Hurricane Irma. I found it interesting that there has been significantly more search interest in Irma that there was in Harvey (2X more). My guess is that since Harvey was so devastating, there is a heightened awareness for Irma. In addition, the search interest in hurricane flood vs hurricane evacuation was interesting in that the majority of the US was searching for information about flooding, while the eastern seaboard was searching about evacuating for Irma. The exception was that the state of Oregon was searching for evacuating also - perhaps folks there either know people in FL or they use to live in FL.

I also looked at Burning Man since I know several people that go every year. The one trend that struck me as odd is that the search for information about this year’s theme was the morning AFTER the event ended (@ 3 am)!

I think some students may have a difficult time thinking of things to search for in Trends that will give them info they care about. I may come up with a list to get them started with the expectation that they will actually do their research of something else once they get into it.

I think part of the interest for students isn’t so much gaining info they care about as much as seeing patterns (possibly unexpected patterns) and trying to figure out a “story” behind them. The search topic could be something as mundane as a search term "pumpkin’ and noticing the search term has a regular cycle of spikes (when viewing 5 year data). Upon closer inspection, it seems to be annual… around the same time each year (I wonder why)… and always followed by a smaller spike (around the end of November hmmmm)…

Sometimes searching for items in pop culture (say “iphone 7”) may give predictable results (spike around the release date) that student may still find interesting that actual real-life data from around the world corresponds to what they might predict.