Explore Task: Student Questions

I’m a first year APCSP teacher. I’m having difficulty drawing a line between what I can and cannot do in terms of students asking for help. For instance, one student asked what the difference was between purpose and function. Can I respond to that in any way? Another was concerned about the efficacy of his searches. Can I provide keywords for them to use? These are two examples. I would love to know what experience/knowledge/suggestions folks have with this currently gray area for me. Also, are students required to work in my class during class time? Can they work in the library? Thanks! - Dan

Hi @dtompkins,

You’re not alone in struggling with the dual role of teacher and proctor. It’s probably more common than it is not.

First, the official word is in page 75-77 (as numbered on the document) of the “purple book” https://secure-media.collegeboard.org/digitalServices/pdf/ap/ap-computer-science-principles-course-and-exam-description.pdf

1. Yes, you can help distinguish in general between purpose and function (and you should). You can give examples. You are clarifying the task directions and you are providing general assistance. You are not allowed to provide feedback on an individual’s work. For example, you may not read what the student has written, then tell him what he stated was a purpose - or that yes, he properly stated a purpose.
    An interaction might look like this…
    Teacher: A purpose means x… a function means y… an example would be the purpose of a bicycle is xyz, but its function is wxy.
    Student: … so is this part I wrote here a purpose or a function?
    Teacher: You’ll need to figure that out for yourself.
  2. You cannot provide individualized feedback about how the student should do the task. However, you can provide general tips, such as “If you want to find how your innovation deals with data, you might want to search something like ‘how does x work’”.