(iZone) Computer Science in Science PD: What to Expect #4

Introduce yourself (name, years taught, school, background, subject, grade, past experience with CS, etc.) Then come back later and read other entries and introduce yourself on another teachers thread (find and comment on something you have in common).
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://studio.code.org/s/sciencePD-iZone/stage/2/puzzle/4

Hi, My name is Latoya, I’ve been teaching for 9 years here in NYC. I started off teaching all middle school subjects, then math only, now science. I am excited to be a participant in CS and do look forward to having my students from Brooklyn unlock a whole new world.

Hi everyone!

I’m Kelly Vaughan. I’ve taught for 15 years, at schools in the Bronx, Harlem, Istanbul (Turkey), and now at Brooklyn Prospect Charter School. I started out teaching MS Science (mostly 6th but all the grades at least once). The last few years I’ve taught a HS class called Design & Technology that included some computer programming in Scratch. I was also the Science Dept. Head. Next year, I’m stepping down from my leadership program to teach 8th grade science full time.

I don’t have a lot of CS experience, but I took an amazing class on game programming through Coursera, called Introduction to Interactive Computer Programming in Python… we made all different games, culminating in Asteroids! Fun, challenging, and free… I recommend it. I am also married to a software engineer, and we have a new baby daughter named Ada (can you guess the inspiration for her name?).

I think that about covers it… looking forward to this!
Kelly

Hi Latoya,

Which middle school grade do you teach?

Kelly

Hi Everyone,