Meet and Greet (CS in Science)

Meet others who are learning to teach CS in Science!

Hello,

I am a science teacher in Bountiful Utah. I have taught for 16 years. I have taught life science physical science, math, earth systems and physics. In my school district, we have junior highs. I am currently teaching physics to the high school students at our school (9th graders) and physical science to the 8th graders. I am looking forward to adding coding to my curriculum. Coding is a new experience for me.

1 Like

Hi,
My name is Renette Hawthorne. I am currently a STEM Science teacher at Silver Lakes Middle School in North Lauderdale, Florida . I have taught earth/space, life, and physical science for 16 years. Currently, I am teaching a STEM elective course with a strong emphasis on the sciences. My past experiences with coding are limited to hour of code week. I am looking forward to being able to add more coding into my curriculum.

Good evening! My name is Sandy Cordova and I live in Southern Utah and teach in St. George at George Washington Academy. I will be starting my 4th year teaching. My first year I taught 6th grade in an all inclusive setting and loved it. The last two years I have taught just 6th grade Science and Social Studies and completely dig it! Next year I will be teaching Science and the Tech6 class.I have a little experience with coding, but have not been afraid to try new things in other CS areas. I can’t wait to learn how to apply coding to creating science models.

Good Day to to all!! My name is Christopher Warren and I have taught 7th and 8th grade science here in Houston, TX. I am going into my 4th year of teaching and i will be teaching robotics, code, STEM, and i will be certified to teach CS after my test in August. I’m looking forward to growing in this area while hopefully bringing something to the table as well…

Hi,