Paired Programming

Would anyone have any pair programming projects to share? I want to try it with the kids next week. Thanks!

Erin

Erin,

To clarify - are you looking for projects with a pair programming structure built in? Any project can incorporate Pair Programming as long as the students are clear in their roles and communicating about the final product. Let me know and I’ll send out the “Bat-signal” for help.

Brad

Either or! Anything you could share would be wonderful. This is my first year teaching this so I’m curious as to what everyone else does. I’d love some extra resources!

I used pair programming in Unit 2 and 3 on the levels where students were first exposed to new code. When they started creating their own webpages, I switched to partner programming (my term). The students were paired with another student. Both students had computers and worked independently on their own pages. If somebody gets stuck, they ask their partner for help first and their table mates second. This method really worked for my students and kept the frustration level low.

1 Like

Erin,

Sorry for the delay - but I think most people incorporate it into lessons as something the students are doing, without having special lessons for it. Through Code Studio you can have students select each other (from the Pair Programming menu in top right corner) and this way they will both get credit for the lesson, or - like I do - I have them work together and do it twice to become more comfortable with the code and sometimes there are errors they need to troubleshoot.