Pilot - U1L09 - Project: Propose an App

Please leave any feedback, thoughts, or resources for the lesson here. As a reminder, good feedback has the following elements:

• description of your school and classroom context
  • details on what went well when teaching this lesson
  • details on what didn’t go well when teaching this lesson
  • a description of the changes you would recommend to improve the lesson (including formative assessment opportunities you added to the lesson)
  • details on the types of deviations you made from the lesson

For more details on what good feedback looks like, check out the feedback guide!

I am a high school CS teacher. Most of my students have little or no experience with computer science and not necessarily any particular interest other than knowing it is a buzzy topic.

The Unit 1 project on a a problem solving app was by far my favorite part of this unit. As a teacher who strongly believes in the power of creativity, I found this project really allowed for a wide variety of creative solutions.
For this project I chose groups by first having students express world problems they were interested in solving. The students shared their problem ideas with people at their table and compared topics. From here, they narrowed down to one topic that they felt would best fit being solved with an app. The discussions they had were great and it led us to continue the work of the previous lessons where students thought about what data an app could access.
We had app ideas ranging from solving first world problems, like choosing an outfit to wear based on the clothes in a wardrobe, to more serious concerns such as helping people in poor countries locate and purchase more affordable food.