Tips for becoming a computer science teacher?

Hi everyone,

My name is Zak and I’m a rising senior at Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. I’m currently double majoring in Computer Science and Education Studies (a program that does not lead to teacher certification). Between the classes I’ve taken in the past few semesters and a job I have this summer teaching at a computer science camp, I’m starting to look into becoming a computer science teacher.

Like I mentioned above, I am studying education but my particular program does not lead to teacher certification. Because I’m so far into my undergraduate career, at this point I don’t think I’ll be able to complete a teacher certification program until after I graduate. However, I’m getting stuck on the best approach to take. Neither Massachusetts (the state in which I go to school) nor Illinois (my home state) seem to offer paths that lead directly to becoming a computer science teacher - it seems like the only option would be to become a math or science teacher and then specialize in teaching computer science once I get a job. Unfortunately, I don’t have a strong background in math or science, so I’m hoping to find another route (either discovering some “secret” program in one of the two states I mentioned or going to a new state).

Long story short, does anyone have any experience with and/or advice for getting certified as a computer science teacher in any state?

@zak.kolar

This is a great time to become a CS teacher! It really does depend on which department CS is in and that can vary widely from district to district, state to state. My home state (NY) has it in the mathematics department. My current district in MD has it in math, business or technology education. Often it helps to be certified and something and then be the person willing the teach CS.