‘16-‘17 General Discussion for Lesson 4.9

Use this thread to discuss your questions and comments about how to run the lesson.

Hi, I don’t expect you guys to do this as the latest update shows December 2016, but will the rubric for this practice PT be updated to mimic the current scoring guide for the explore performance task?

I’ll ask, but it may be unlikely.

hi, @janel.lemieux!

we updated the rubric for lesson 4.9 in early december to mirror the new scoring guidelines for the explore task. you’ll note that because some folks had already started the project using the original rubric, we didn’t delete it entirely, instead we marked it as old and added the new version below. you can find the new guidelines starting on page 7 of the lesson 9 practice pt doc, here.

This is my first year teaching AP and according to other AP teachers in our school, students taking the Collegeboard AP Test in May are exempt from taking a final in school in June. Since I am requiring all my students to complete the Explore and Create Projects, I was thinking this should count for 40% of their final for the school. Is anyone else doing this? I still have to figure out how to handle the remaining 60% for those taking the AP test. I am struggling with the fact that students are “paying for the test” to get out of a final for the class.

Targeted Marketing and Personalization

Apple vs. FBI Cybersecurity

I am trying to understand what topics are allowed and not allowed by college board for the explore task. I encouraged my students to do research on a broad category of topics with respect to big data and cryptography. The results were very interesting. There were responses on cloudbleed, backdoor to encryption for national security, and data privacy to name a few.
Here are a couple student submissions for the 4.9: Practice PT - Big Data and Cyber security Dilemmas.
I think these address the rubric. What is your opinion?

@mmathews