How are you grading?

This is my first time teaching Computer Science Discoveries and while the platform and lessons make sense in terms of what I show the kids, I am having a little difficultly figuring out how to best assess my students.

Some of my kids are just doing whatever they can to get Code Studio to give them green circles. It seems really easy to just hit finish and even with minimal changes the kids get “credit”.

I was hoping you might have some insight on how to best grade/assess the kids. I have 6 sections of 25 so it’s not the most realistic for me to check each kids work.

How do you transition their work from the progress screen to the gradebook?

This is an awesome question. Take a look at the Assessment forum for some ideas.

So far (I am only in Unit 2), I go into each student and look at the last stage of each lesson. I give feedback on Progress Book for them if they missed something or did something wrong. I then allow them to go back and fix the issue. It is a ton of work, but I have found by doing this the kids know I am personally looking at what they are doing and I am giving them feedback which helps them understand what they did wrong. When they got to Lesson 9, they understood their errors and made better web sites (I think).

I do not have as many students as you, but I do have 2 full sections. Once you get in the groove of grading it does not take as long as you might think. For my two groups, it usually takes me about 10-15 minutes to grade each lesson and give feedback.

Thank you for sharing this idea for how you are giving feedback. I also check my students actual work rather than rely on the green bubbles.

I’d like to give a skills based assessment. How do I made a debugging assessment for unit 3?

What do you mean by Progress Book? Is this something you have created.

Its our online gradebook for our district.