Nextech Forum Introductions

In our online PD you will have many opportunities to connect with other teachers through a forum. Take this opportunity to introduce yourself by sharing the same information that each of the facilitators shared on the previous level. In your first post take a minute and introduce yourself by sharing your teaching background and any hobbies or pastimes you enjoy! STEP 1: To get started, click on "Continue Discussion" below to be taken to the forum page. Click the "Reply" button under the previous introduction posts to add your own. STEP 2: Come back later and read new posts and respond to someone else's post by clicking on "post a response" to go to the forum page, then clicking "reply" on the comment you wish to reply to.
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://studio.code.org/s/ECSPD-NexTech/stage/6/puzzle/2

Hi! I’m Dooley, and I’m located in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have been teaching for about 13 years in the inner city. My interests are astronomy, record collecting, history, and like many of you, I’m also a tech junkie. I’m looking forward to reading everyone else’s posts, and am astonished that I am the first one to get the ball rolling. I’ll be slightly provocative here and ask everyone else a question…is it really necessary to teach EVERY student how to code? I vote yes, and I’ll explain why after I read some other replies!

Good morning. My name is Lisa Hawk. I am a teacher at George Washington Community High School in Indianapolis, IN. I have been a teacher for 13 years. I teach Computer Science, Hire Technology, and Culinary Arts. I have been using a teaching computer skills since the late 70’s and coding for the past 4 years. My hobbies are riding our motor cycle with my husband and playing bassoon with three different community bands.