Error: boolean is not a function

Student created a game and it was working. He then said it just stopped working without him making any changes. The error has always occurred on Line 52 saying “boolean is not a function”. He has tried moving blocks in his draw loop and it continues to put the error on line 52.

Hi, this looks like a link to a sign in page, not the game. Can you copy and paste the “Share” link from the project?

Thanks,
Elizabeth

Sorry, I think this is the correct link!

Hi!

In line 125, the student sets playerlose to true, but it is being called as a function in line 52. Once it is set to true, he can’t use it as a function anymore.

Elizabeth

I’m not really sure how to help him fix it. He explained to me that he has it set like that so the playerlose function does not start during the instruction page. Once a key is pressed, he then wants the function to start. Any suggestions on other ways to go about doing what he wants. I’m just learning this stuff along with them!

Here’s what I would tell him: He identified a bug (that the function is running during the start screen), which is great, but the way that he tried to fix the bug (completely break the function by setting it to “false”) is not working. He needs to look back at the problem and figure out a different solution that only runs that function if the game has already started. He definitely knows how to do that, because he has written a function that sets the screen to the regular game once the program has already started.

The wider problem is the structure of how he does his start screen.

One great thing he is doing is to have a variable that changes when the “h” button is pressed, so the state of the game (started or not) is saved. However, the way that he has organized his code is confusing. There are a few things to consider when you have a start screen.