Sorting Strings Alphabetically

This is for the Create PT.

I have a student trying to sort strings alphabetically. The aim of his app is to organize states by their letter, as in, when you choose, “A,” all states beginning with “A” are output.

The student has tried several things to no avail. This is my first year teaching this and I feel stumped. I have looked at Javascript solutions but still don’t know how it translates to Code.org.

I don’t have the full list of what he’s tried, but just getting some suggestions on resolving this would be a huge help.

Hi @jkralicek,

Unfortunately, if a student is working on the Create PT, then you and we cannot help them - even to debug code. This is a violation of the academic integrity of the exam so your best solution for “helping” the student is as follows:

• suggest they break down the problem in to sub-problems
  • encourage them to look at the documentation that exists (code.org or elsewhere with regards to javascript)
  • suggest they go back to lessons you’ve already done this year that solve a similar problem and see how the problem was solved in these cases

I know its frustrating to watch them struggle!
Madeline

The complexity of the solution depends on what exactly is the behavior of the sorting system.

If the app wants to show only the states that start with the letter “A”, we can filter out all the states that start with “A”

//due to code.org array.filter function not working, i will be implementing my own filter function
function filter(array, callback){
    var response = [];
    for (var i = 0; i<array.length; i++){
        if (callback(array[i])) {
            response.push(array[i]);
        }
    };
    return response;
}
var result = filter(["Apple", "Banana", "Avocado", "Grapes"], function(entry){
    return entry.substring(0, 1) === "A";
});
console.log(result); // ["Apple", "Avocado"]

If the app wants to sort alphabetically, the solution would be a bit more complicated extremely simple.