Why is this array not working?

Hi I have students code here: https://studio.code.org/projects/applab/dLlOlzZArhB1ksNRijM42AqNe5aLYftZw8rgr955YkQ

Her array appears to be working in the console.log but it is not appearing the text box likes she wants it to.

This is my first year teaching AP CSP so I am learning as well. I want to know why this is not working for future reference. So that I can better teach this class next year, because when I try to figure out the problem, I can’t!
She is not taking the class for AP credit so I have finally broken down and am posting here.
Please let me know your thoughts.

Hi Bonnie -
Looks like the problem is in the order that things are done, aka the “sequencing” of the program.

You can see that the function orderDis creates the final string that contains the order. However, that function is called and executed very early in the program on line 14, well before the user has created the order and filled the array with data. Looks like line 34 is where the end screen finally gets displayed and that is a better spot to call orderDis, before the end screen appears but after the array has be populated.

Make sense?

• Mitch

Mitch
Thank you!
That totally makes sense and I was thinking something similar. However, we have tried to move the orderDis function around and it still returns undefined. In fact, even though the console.log is reporting a populated array, if we replace the array orders [0] - [4] in the setText with order.length, it returns 1, which tells me that it thinks the only thing in the array is the first appenditem at the top of the code.

Any ideas on that?

Bonnie,

First I have to warn you that if this is the student’s program for the create performance task then the college board says “Teachers may not;”

and I’m afraid this would cross that line in a big big way.