1st Year Teaching AP CSP - Anyone else here doing same?

Hey all, I’ve been teaching Middle School Computer Science the past 2 years and this year I’m taking on AP CSP…wondering if there’s a buddy in here that wants to connect to support each other. While I’m a tech person and know I can handle it - I am nervous about what I don’t know that I don’t know in this first year. I want to do the best for the students.

Any support or points of reference are appreciated.

Looking forward to connecting.

VaNessa

1 Like

Right here with ya! Teaching is my second career, after 20 years in corporate world (mostly travel/airline automation) so I’m comfortable with most of the concepts but not always prepared to teach those concepts.

I am a high school math teacher teaching our school’s inaugural class of AP CSP - I’m excited by this curriculum, but very nervous about delivering it in a timely fashion. Would love to check in with folks. - Wendy Menard

I’m like Ron. I’ve come from the IT infrastructure side of the house. I’ve used most of the concepts regularly, but many of the Code.org CSP exercises and instructions can be pretty esoteric so it’s still a challenge knowing the goal and intent of them.

We’ve made it to Chapter 2 and I’ve started connecting the dots so it’s easier to lead the students to the conclusions we’re trying to get them to figure out without point-blank telling them.

This is my first “real” course so I’m still exploring a lot of new territory. Also happy to connect with you all!

yup first year teaching