CS Discoveries in Summer School

I’ve been teaching CS Discoveries for two years and was just asked to teach it in summer school. I’ve never taught summer school before and am anxious about the accelerated pace. Our summer school is two sessions that are 11 days each, each session represents a semester; basically each summer school day (normally 6 hours per school day) is roughly equivalent to a week of regular class. I am looking for advice as to strategies for not burning out the students.

Additionally, due to school closures, all of this will be distance learning, so the students will be alone in their homes. This means that the unplugged activities will be a challenge.

Please offer advice to a teacher new to CSD to be successful in summer school.

Hi Eric,

11 days is quick! How much of that 6 hours per day would be spent teaching CSDiscoveries? That might help everyone figure out what might work best for your time with the students.

Michelle

After re-reading, it looks like this is 100% CS Discoveries at home over summer and 1 day is 6 hours. Are you synchronous or asynchronous? - will the students be on a video call the entire time or more like setup in a Google Classroom or similar?

Here are some tools that can help in the planning…