Getting a Sprite to "Destroy" to show new level in Gamelab

Hello All,

I am an instructor new to code.org and i have a couple students making projects in here independent of the set curricula. Both students technically have more Gamelab experience than I do! I’ve done more “real world” coding.

My student and I can’t figure out how to advance to the next level in this project. The idea is that once the character walks through (to the right) and touches the trophy, a You Win screen appears and then, once you click on that, the background sprite is ‘destroyed’ and now the character is on a different level (Different sprite bg).

Any suggestions would be great! Thank you, Bridget

Link to the project or level: [replace with link to the curriculum or get the “Share” link to a project]
What I expect to happen: [replace with a detailed description of the behavior you’re trying to create]
What actually happens: [replace with a detailed description of what actually happens when the code runs including any errors or unexpected behavior]
What I’ve tried: [replace with a detailed description of what you’ve already tried to do to solve the problem]

@batchcooley.bridget ,

Looks like a fun game! I can see they have learned quite a bit.

This suggestion should help them, but if they get down the road and it isn’t working, feel free to check back in.

I would suggest they create a level variable at the top of the game. For example: var level=1;

Then, inside the draw loop, there could be a conditional statement checking for the level. If level == 1, { ... }

The background and other elements you want to change could be where the … is now.

That could be expanded to be an if else block and if the level is 2, it could have a different background etc.

I hope this is enough to get them started. Have them give it a shot and see if they can add a 2nd level, but check back in if you need a pair of eyes on it.

Good luck!

Mike

1 Like