New Teacher - Pacing and Scheduling

I am new to both teaching and AP CSP. I like the code.org material a lot but with a short runway am feeling a bit challenge molding the material to fit our schedule. My class will meet 4 times a week for 55 mins, except for all those assemblies and holidays. Any suggestions on how to pace and schedule the two PT’s?
Jim

Hi @jreilly2016,

That sounds like a really short amount of time with your CSP students.

I just posted another reply to someone regarding a non-traditional schedule, referencing discussions from other teachers with non-traditional schedules: Teaching AP CSP in a 4x4 block

However, I’m not sure if any of those situations are in any way similar to yours since as far as I can see, your situation is that you just plain have fewer total instructional minutes. It may just be a matter of experiencing the course for a year or two in order to get a better idea of where you feel you can cut some corners for your students.

The soonest we recommend you do the Explore PT is after unit 4, when they learn about data (relevant to the Explore PT written response questions), and do the Create PT after Unit 5 Chapter 1 (so students have sufficient coding knowledge). Hopefully that helps you in terms of sequence.

Frank

Frank,
Thanks. I will did through those responses. Sorry if I was confusing. I will have a fairly regular schedule with 4 55min class sessions per week. My question is more looking at how to pace and schedule so I can see where if any windows for extra prep or review or if I come across some good external sources that I have an idea where I could insert without causing delays on completing the code.org material. (Probably just nervous as a new teacher having never done this before.)
Jim

Hi Jim, welcome to the world of CSP! It’s a very fun class to teach, and I hope that you and your students enjoy it as much as I do. Anyway, to your question…