Reflect on your identity as a science teacher

Reflect on your identity as a Science teacher, what do you aspire to? Then reflect on how learning to integrate Computer Science in Science through modeling and simulation relates to your professional goals, and identity?
This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://studio.code.org/s/sciencePD-iZone/stage/9/puzzle/4

As a science teacher, I have already participating in a Scratch program and been part of a study called Cyber-learning.I am fortunate to have the use of 18 iPads in my classroom I am always interested in extending my knowledge using forward thinking. I realize the importance of technology in teaching.

I agree. Technology plays an important role in the future of our students. Every minute the technology is getting more advanced. If we do not teach students to be comfortable with technology now they will continue to struggle in life.

I aspire to leave a lasting impression on students about enjoying science, taking care of our environment and making science real and part of everyday life. Bringing in a new way to connect to and solve . real problems via computer modeling should accomplish much of my goals. The ‘realness factor’ of functional real-time modeling should help many students make a pertinent connection to science.

testing testing testing

testing testing testing

testing testing testing

As a science teacher I aspire to having my students become critical thinkers and to question everything. Integrating Computer Science into my curriculum will give me another tool for my students to use to answer their questions and to be successful in the future.

As a technology teacher, I want my students to think about everything they are doing on the internet, and to think about topics such as validity, bias and citizenship. As a robotics teacher, I love the idea of plan - design - test - evaluate - redesign. Modeling and simulation offer my students the same ideas.