Unit 2 HTML Codes By Lesson

This is the “cheat sheet” I created to keep track of HTML Codes in Unit 2. I have filled in explanations in simple student friendly terms. I am new to coding! If you find I have misrepresented a code or left something out, please let me know. I have also added the section for attributes to my list. Diane Neville, Gulfstream Academy, Hollywood, Florida

Coding Unit 2 HTML.docx (97.8 KB)

15 Likes

Hi slooowlearner -

Everything looks pretty good - though I have a comment Lesson 4:Headers

Lesson 4: Headers

<h1></h1> -headers are used to organize the main ideas of the web
page. They come in 6 different sizes
from h1 the biggest to h6 the smallest. These are found within<head>

Actually the<head> is an element container for metadata (data
about data) and is placed between the <html> tag and the <body> tag.
HTML metadata is data about the HTML document. Metadata is not displayed. w3schools)

Anything typed in the head of the web page will not be seen by the viewer - except the <title> That being the title of the web page.

h1…h6 are headings that are bolded and are used in the <body> of the web page.

Hope this helps - w3schools is a really good resource as well.

Good Luck to you - practice as much as you can and coding web pages will become fun - I love it!

~Melanie

3 Likes

Hey @slooowlearner this is a pretty nifty resource. The difference between head, header, and heading is a bit tricky and as you note, we made a mistake when writing the curriculum. In the spirit of this document, here’s how I’d explain the difference in a kid-friendly way.

Heading: <h1>,<h2>,…<h6>, are used to make titles for different sections of your document. <h1> is the largest heading and <h6> is the smallest.

Head: <head> contains information about the webpage but most of it will never be visible to someone who visits it. This information helps a computer better understand what’s in your web page and how it works.