Coding and helping others

hi I’m a new teacher

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

Let us know if there’s anything we can do to help or if you have specific questions.

Hi Frank. Because of lack of time, I can not actually do all the BIG DATA worksheets - can you give me a few hints for
What is this website potentially useful for? What kinds of problems could the provided information be used to solve?
and…

Where is the data coming from?

Check for “About”, “Download”, or “API”. You may also need to do a web search.

• Is the data from one source or many?
  • Is it static or live?
  • Is the source reputable? Why or why not?
  • Add a link to the raw data if you can find one.
    There are usually tricks they show us in the workshops - have nothing on this.

They always ask questions and I love to be able to give at least hints! Thank you Frank.

Hi @mschlager,

For “What is this website potentially useful for?..”, I don’t believe there are absolute right or wrong answers. Of course I’m sure there are still popular uses for those sites, but my guess is those questions are trying to push students to be creative in thinking of possible applications. Maybe tying in to the practices of identifying benefits of innovations or how data can be used to solve problems.

For “Where is the data coming from”, I would just click around on the site under the sections suggested in the question. You might not be able to find answers to every bullet and might have to interpret or make assumptions in some cases.

I’ll see if I can get an answer key of example answers into the verified teacher section.

Frank

Hi Frank.
Thanks for all your help.
A student wants to do g-mail for the explore task - what do you think?

Hi Frank,