Event handlers stop listening after error with elements not existing (yet)

To preface this, I sent this request to the support line on the website, so there may still be some things that reference support. I am a student, but I was not able to log into the forum with a student account.

I don’t know if this is exactly a bug or not, but I am having problems with some things in AppLab. I am working on a project for my computer science class in which I am making a notes app that will add notes with a plus button. I am having a couple of problems. A couple of these I have not been able to find a solution, so I have had to go the long way around.

The first problem that I have kind of fixed is the fact that I have not been able to find a way to create a new screen in the code. I have looked through the documentation, but have not been able to find a command for it. To get around this I have just created all of the pages beforehand, but I still want to be able to give the appearance of creating more pages, so I am trying to create more text inputs that correspond to the note pages that I have already created.

The problem that I am coming across is that when I create these text inputs and the edit buttons that correspond to them, I have to also create event handlers in the code beforehand because if you can create more code with commands, then I don’t know how and can’t find anything on it. Whenever I start the program, all of these premade event handlers error out because their element ids do not exist yet, and when they are created it seems that the code has already decided to ignore them, and they will not function.