Student questioning curriculum

This is my first year teaching AP CSP with the code.org curriculum. I am following it very closely and believe in it 100% as sound and exciting curriculum. I have a student who asked in front of the class, “what is the point of all this, I don’t see how this is helping me. We’ve been problem solving since elementary school and none of this is useful”. Not only was I discouraged as a teacher who has spent the better part of the year learning it but wanted to be sure to answer him in a way that would be convincing partly because other students were listening. I did the best I could but wonder if there is any reading material or point I could have made to share with students. I’ve stressed the importance of CS from the beginning of the year. The vast majority of my kids LOVE it. Advice? PS He wants to share with administration his lack of respect for the course. :frowning: This at a time when I’m the only teacher in the school who teaches it and am doing everything I can to continue to grow this program. Help!

1 Like

There are two things that stuck out for me when I was reading your post. 1) You are an enthusiastic pioneer at your school and in your classroom who cares about the quality and usefulness of the course. 2) The vast majority of your students LOVE what they are learning. Success already achieved.

Even though I teach CS Discoveries, I can certainly empathize with your situation and the feelings you have after this encounter. It sounds like you have done a great job making sure your classes know the importance of CS. You may need to enlist the help of industry folks or guest speakers to help convince a student like this. With my middle school students, I have been showing some of the Code.org videos to give them an idea of how CS is a part of anything they might do in the future. Here is Code Stars: https://youtu.be/dU1xS07N-FA?list=PL6LnmFpTVXsEo1whYAeFfrwA2gJhV8W_l

and CS Changes Everything: https://youtu.be/QvyTEx1wyOY