A Bit About Yourself

Through the next year of Professional Learning we’ll be working to develop your local cohort of teachers into a community of practice that will allow you to grow and develop as a teacher with the support of your peers. The first step to building that community is getting to know one another. Tell us all a little bit about yourself:

• Where and what do you teach?
  • Why are you interested in Computer Science?
  • What do you like to do outside of the classroom?

Hello!

My name is Melanie Ruiz and I am a Teacher on Assignment in the CTE/Linked Learning department in the Fontana Unified School District. Prior to leaving the classroom I taught grades 2-5. I am now broadening my horizons by learning more about middle and high school.

I am interested in Computer Science because I am passionate about educational technology. I have done the hour of code with my elementary students as well as attended the Code.org PD for elementary teachers.

Outside of the classroom I enjoy spending time with my husband and son doing a variety of things from shopping to cycling, as well as spending time with my 3 dogs.

Melanie Ruiz

I teach math at Fishers High School. I am interested in computer science because I think it connects math with real life applications on a higher level than just a basic math course. Outside of the classroom I coach sports year round and have a wife and 2 year old son at home that I like to spend time with.

1 Like

Hi,
My name is Melinda Batalias and I teach at Monacan High School in Chesterfield County. This upcoming year I teach AP Calculus, Geometry, and AFDA. I am interested in Computer Science because it has the potential to impact every students’ future.
Outside the classroom I like outdoor activities and reading.