Ideas for grading, and more. I'm new to teaching

I’m looking for help on grading and pacing. My students are REALLY SLOW doing these lessons. I thought that they should be done in a day, but my students take several days to get through them. I’m working on HTML and CSS now and I’m on the 2020 L9 in Unit 2.

Do your students get a whole lesson done in a day (my class periods are 50 minutes and I have 7th grade)?

How do you move them along?
Do your students read the “do now”? I’m pushing them to do this, but this concept seems foreign to them.

Grading takes me forever. I am now grading on a spreadsheet for each level that is important to me. For those that are really (really) slow, I am working in small groups and motivating them and pushing (cough dragging cough) them along . Once I grade a level, I don’t have to go back and look at it again, so that is helping me.

I don’t like the green bubbles as they are meaningless on CSD, aren’t they? I wish I could color that bubble in when I determined that the student is done. That would be super useful and would eliminate the need for my grid. Why is that bubble even there. I have students that tell me they are finished because all the bubbles are green. Seriously??

All my M.Ed. classes tell me that heterogeneous groups are good, but those poor students want to learn so much and just wait wait wait for the ones that want to be on social media instead (I’m assuming that is what some of the remote students do). I’m going to open some lessons that they can play around in (without grades) so they can opt to learn more while I drag (and I mean dddrrraaaggg) some of my other students along.

Can you tell I’m still pretty new to this?? I need lots of help so if anyone can take pity on me, I’ll take your pity. And by the way, we have had no internet for about 4 weeks this year. Yup. Fun. Taught them lists and css with text files and a browser, and no internet. Thought about jumping ship.