Potential New High School Computer Science Teacher

Hey all,

I am looking for advice. Right now, I’m teaching Computer science using code.org Discoveries program to our 6-8 graders. There is a possibility that I will end up becoming our 6-12th grade computer science teacher in Indiana.

I have a degree in education, with a focus on math and general science, so basically anything I’m teaching now is what I’ve learned through Code.org. I’m curious what I should do to start preparing to teach HS computer science. I’m really green when it comes to anything beyond Unit 6 on Code.org Discoveries.

This transition is also probably a few years off, so I have time to learn and prepare.

Thanks!

Hi @dbroersma,

I moved from middle school cs to high school cs last year. It looks like you have some time so that is a huge plus! Here is what I did and what I recommend:

• Figure out the classes you will be teaching and if you can choose the curriculum. I teach an Intro class, AP CSP and AP CSA for my computer science classes.
  • I use CSD for my Intro class so I was familiar with that.
  • I use Code.org’s CSP for my AP CSP. This is also JavaScript but it uses App Lab and is event driven (vs the draw loop) so there was a learning curve for me. To learn that, I took one of the Code.org summer sessions and went through the entire curriculum. Once you are assigned the class, you can sign up for the AP Summer Institute. Summer Institutes are good for teaching you how to use College Boards tools and provide skills for teaching AP classes. They can also be helpful in learning the language in the curriculum but this isn’t the goal.