Teaching the course

I teach the CSD course, new this year, and have been asked to consider teaching the CSP course next year.

My concern is that I have little computer science experience. I have taught the Hour of Code for about 3 years, this year is my first year with CSD. I have taken a few courses over the years, but I am concerned with the depth of knowledge that CSP might need.

Can some of you reflect on teaching the CSP course? I am wondering about your level of expertise with computer science, if you have little experience; have you felt overwhelmed? Are there questions from students you simply cannot answer? If so, what do you do? If you teach both CSD and CSP can you reflect on the workload (grading/planning etc.)

2 Likes

Short answer: You’ll be fine.

No prior CS knowledge required. Teaching the CSP course is all about being the “lead learner” and jumping in with the students. Might take some getting used to if you’re used to being the authoritative source in the classroom, but I’ve heard many teachers express much success with letting go of that idea and embracing when students ask questions you might know the answer to and responding with “Great question! I have no idea! How might we find out?” Based on the way the curriculum is designed, you basically learn with the students through exploration together. This is my 3rd(?) year teaching CSP and first year teaching CSD and I’ve felt very comfortable picking up the CSD curriculum because I feel its philosophy and style closely matches that of CSP.

In my opinion, it’s more important to adopt the “lead learner” attitude than it is to have the CS background knowledge.