CS Discoveries - independent learning

I’m a homeschool mom - brand new to code.org. My son is zipping through the CS fundamentals course. I’d intended him work on it occasionally throughout the fall, but it looks like he’ll finish the whole thing in a little over a week. Is CS Discoveries a logical next step? Can he take this course independently as well? I have zero CS background, and don’t have the time to keep up with him. But he’s loving this and I want to support it. He’s almost 9, highly gifted, very mathy. Thank you!

Hi!
Very cool to hear that homeschool families use code.org! It’s an AMAZING resource/tool! One of the best things about the curriculum is that you don’t HAVE to know anything about CS to teach it!

I’ve used code.org Fundamentals for the past 3 years with my 1st - 5th grade students (I am a computer science teacher in a Catholic preK-8 school. Last month, I completed a week-long training to teach CS discoveries.) I have a few questions/comments that might help you decide what to do next. Please forgive me if these are things you already know!

1. Did your son start at Course A and progress all the way through Course F?

2. As he was working, did you “spot check” his progress? You can do this at any time, in any course, and on any lesson. Look at the top of his screen where it gives the lesson number, lesson title, and small circles with numbers in them. Look to the right for the orange downward-pointing triangle with “more” written underneath. Click that. All of the circles and diamonds should be dark green if he’s completed that puzzle. Light green means complete but the solution could be improved, yellow means incomplete, and white means not yet begun.

3. Did he complete all of the challenges? You can find those by clicking on the “racing flag” at the top of the screen.

4. If he’s done all of the things mentioned above, has he completed projects in the Sprite Lab, Artist, App Lab, and Game Lab?